Sweet Mustard Balsamic Vinaigrette

 

Some of the best recipes always start as a mistake.

I know it’s happened to you before … you go to make a recipe and realize halfway through that you don’t have that key ingredient. Then you start fumbling through your pantry to find a substitute.

Well … that’s how my family’s favorite salad dressing was discovered!

My go-to salad dressing used to be a grainy mustard vinaigrette.  The three ingredients were staples I always had on hand … that is until one fateful Sunday afternoon when I went to whip up a dressing for my family’s lunch.

Seems someone (couldn’t have been me!) had used up the grainy mustard and had not added it to the grocery list! As I was lamenting over what to use instead, my Dad said, “Why not use French’s mustard?”  I’m sure I had a funny look on my face.  Yellow mustard for a vinaigrette? Yes, it’s delicious on just about everything, but would it taste good with balsamic vinegar?

So, being adventurous, I gave it a try.  And you know what …. it was delicious!

Since the flavor of the yellow mustard was a little more mild than the grainy mustard, my kids actually preferred it!

A few weeks later my Dad said he was making our new vinaigrette and decided to add apricot preserves to the mixture. Again, I am sure I had a funny look on my face.  Jam in salad dressing?!  Well, of course I tried it … and was pleasantly surprised to discover … I loved it.

The preserves add a sweetness that really rounds out the tangy flavors of the vinegar and mustard.

I always now tell people … if you have a well-stocked kitchen with good quality staples, you will always be able to make a flavorful dish with what’s on hand.  Even if it’s an unlikely combination of ingredients!

Enjoy!

Sweet Mustard Balsamic Vinaigrette

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon apricot preserves
1 tablespoon French’s Yellow Mustard
4 tablespoons olive oil
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

In a small bowl whisk together the vinegar, apricot preserves and yellow mustard. Slowly add the oil in a steady stream, whisking until emulsified.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Serves 4 to 6.

 

0 Responses to “Sweet Mustard Balsamic Vinaigrette”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Jennifer Chandler

Search Recipes by Category

Learn more with the Simply Grilling cookbook

Learn more with the Simply Salads cookbook

Follow me!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other subscribers