Potato Chip Chicken Fingers

Old-fashioned fried chicken is good, but I think my version raises the bar.

What’s not to love about the marriage of potato chips and fried chicken tenders?!

This recipe was one of the most popular dishes at my old restaurant Cheffie’s Market & More. We couldn’t keep them in stock.

When I was writing my cook book Simply Suppers: Comfort Food Your Whole Family Will Love, I knew I had to include a fried chicken recipe.   Mashed potatoes, mac-n-cheese, meatloaf, apple pie and fried chicken … all prerequisite recipes for a “Comfort Food” book.

I have to admit classic Southern Fried Chicken is not a dish that was in my everyday repertoire.  We all have those foods that we consider just easier to have someone else make … for me that was fried chicken. I start playing around with recipes and really wasn’t 100% happy with my results.  They were good … but not over the top.

Then I had one of those “A – Ha!” moments!  Why was I messing around with buttermilk marinades, when I already had a super-duper fried chicken finger recipe?! 

This recipe is so easy. I take the guess work out frying by having you just brown then chicken in the oil … and then finish cooking the tenders in the oven.  That way you have perfectly cooked chicken tenders every time.

I can guarantee this recipe will be a hit for your friends and family!

Enjoy!

Potato Chip Chicken Tenders
From Simply Suppers by Jennifer Chandler

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 bag (11-ounce) Lay’s® potato chips, crushed
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 11/2 pounds)
Vegetable oil, for frying

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Place the flour in a shallow bowl and season generously with salt and pepper. Place the beaten egg in another shallow bowl. Leave the crushed potato chips in the bag. (This way you don’t dirty another dish!)

Rinse the chicken and pat dry with paper towels. Slice each chicken breast lengthwise into 4 or 5 strips. Generously season the chicken with salt and pepper. Working in small batches, lightly dredge both sides of the chicken in the seasoned flour, shaking off the excess. Next dip the chicken in the egg wash to coat completely, letting the excess drip off. Then dredge the chicken through the crushed potato chips, evenly coating on all sides. Place the prepared chicken on a baking sheet or cutting board.

In a large stockpot or Dutch oven pour enough oil so that there is an approximately a 1-inch layer of oil. Over medium-high heat, warm the oil until a few droplets of water sizzle when carefully sprinkled in the pot. In batches so as not to over crowd the pot, cook the chicken until golden brown, about 3 minutes per side. Transfer the chicken to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Transfer to the oven and bake until the chicken is cooked through, about 15 to 20 minutes. Serve warm.

Serves 4 to 6.

Cooking Tip: I like to serve this with my homemade honey mustard sauce.  Just whisk together equal amounts French’s® yellow mustard, whole-grain Dijon mustard, and mayonnaise. Add honey to taste.

Freezes well: The prepared but uncooked chicken fingers freeze well. To prevent sticking, freeze the chicken fingers in a single layer on a baking sheet before placing them in a container or freezer bag. When you are ready to cook the chicken fingers, no need to thaw. You can fry them frozen.

 

17 Responses to “Potato Chip Chicken Fingers”


  1. 1 Steph@PlainChicken October 4, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    I am going to put these on my menu – I love chicken fingers during the week. Quick & easy. I’ve never crusted them with potato chips. Can’t wait to try them.

  2. 3 Shawn October 12, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Jennifer: I have missed all of your book signings and I have 3 copies of Simply Suppers I would love to get signed…any hope there will be more signings during the holidays?

    • 4 cookwithjennifer October 13, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      Hi Shawn! Yes! I will have a few more book signings in Memphis. I will be signing books at Trolley Stop Market on November 6, at The Peabody Hotel gift shop on November 15, and at Davis-Kidd on December 11. Follow me on Facebook at Cook with Jennifer or Twitter at @cookwjennifer for details.

  3. 5 Rachelle March 3, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    These so delicious! I love love love the honey mustard sauce too. Even my kids ate a second piece! Thank you, I’m going to blog this winner winner chicken dinner with a link back to your recipe. =)

  4. 7 D Ann December 5, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    My kids loved them! They even took seconds and thirds.

  5. 9 mooreganics December 12, 2011 at 4:06 am

    These were a HUGE hit with my family last night! A quick fry and then into the oven to bake through was key!!! Thanks for that tip. We usually order chicken tenders with the potato chip crust from a local bistro, but now I can make my own.

    While the kids preferred them on their own, my husband and I put on top of a large salad with Ranch dressing. YUM!

    I also soaked the chicken in buttermilk for most of the day before cooking. I think in the future I may tinker with adding some different seasonings or Parmesan cheese to the “crust”.

    THANKS!!!!
    ~Laura

  6. 11 Sue July 31, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Do you have a calorie count for this chicken? This is perfect for the person w/celiac disease that still wants to have fried chicken! We loved it.

  7. 17 Sue Jones August 14, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    My husband has Celiac disease so this is a perfect breading so that he can have fried chicken for a change. I do have to use wheat free flour for his though. Potato chips are Gluten free!
    Sue
    Nunn,Co.


Leave a Reply

Jennifer Chandler

Search Recipes by Category

Learn more with the Simply Grilling cookbook

Learn more with the Simply Salads cookbook

Follow me!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Twitter Updates


